Stilettos and Sweatpants

img_0127

V has the best taste, don’t you think?

I’ve been trying something new around the apartment. It started on Christmas morning when V gave me the most beautiful shoes – a pair of Valentino Garavani Rockstud Noir pumps, that I had never seen before, to be exact. While I used to spend all of my time pinning pairs of sexy shoes and studded attire, the majority of my boards these days are focused on interior decorating, career tips, and – when it comes to attire – work clothes and relaxed weekend wear. Leave it to V to discover them and deliver them under our Christmas tree when I least expect it.

The minute I opened the box I put them on. Since we had just woken up, I was relaxing in sweatpants. I wanted to share the shoes with my friend Steph, who I knew would appreciate my new footwear finery, and V helped me set the stage complete with “Naughty” box. I wore them around the apartment until it was time to leave for V’s parents’ house.

A few days later – after a week off from work spent mostly in sweats, jeans, and slouchy sweaters and tees – I was going through my clothes for my seasonal trip to the consignment shop when I came across the box for my Alexander McQueen booties. I slipped off my slipper socks and slipped on my stilettos and proceeded to wear them around the apartment for the rest of the morning – and it felt good. I stood straighter and there was a pep in my step (much to the chagrin of our downstairs neighbor, I’m sure). I walked out of the bedroom and V smiled and said, “so this is your new thing, stilettos and sweatpants?” And so I decided, yes, this will be my new thing.

Because getting dressed doesn’t have to about who is going to see you, it’s an outward reflection of how you want to feel. And I’ve got a closet full of shoes that are begging to make me feel fabulous. Cue the Kinky Boots soundtrack…

#stilettosandsweatpants

 

Leave a Reply

