The Kindness of Crossing Guards

So this morning a crossing guard said to me, “well don’t you look fancy?” and I was just so appreciative that I had to blog about it. Allow me to explain…

I live in a very quaint town in Nassau County on the South Shore of Long Island. There’s a nice little downtown area with shops and restaurants and the church even has carollers waiting to greet you at the train station at Christmas. The houses are expensive and the taxes are high, but it’s basically like living in a Thomas Kincaid painting or one of those villages your mom puts out at Christmas. 

In addition to the aforementioned charming characteristics, we also have really lovely crossing guards. Each day on my way to the train I see three of them and, for the most part (we all have our days), they greet you with a smile and help you on your way. 

A couple of weeks ago I was feeling burnt out. I was physically rundown and just kind of drained from a job that I love, but is also exhausting. As I ran towards the train station – because I’m always running late – the walk sign was counting down the seconds until it was no longer safe to pass when I heard one of my patron saint crossing guards say, “you got this.”
Now, I realize that she meant that I would be able to cross the street before the light changed, but – in all honesty – I carried her message with me throughout the entire day: you got this. 

So I just wanted to give a shoutout to the lovely ladies who make a small, sweet difference in my day. You probably have no idea how much your presence is appreciated. 

Leave a Reply

