Making Monochrome Work for Me

Petite ladies like myself can really benefit from dressing in one color from head to toe.  When I initially purchased these Banana Republic pants I figured I’d style them à la Katharine Hepburn and pair them with a classic white button down. After trying them on I realized that the waist is far lower than the kind ol’ Kath wore and wearing them that way would elongate my waist and make me look boxy.

Then I remembered that I had this slim-fit, fine-rib wool turtleneck which is also from Banana Republic (albeit about 15 years ago – seriously, I’ve had it since High School). When I put them on together I had one of those fantastic a-ha/new favorite outfit moments. I’ve been trying to get back to a simpler style of dressing and this just felt so right.

The pants are nicely lined and a really great weight, so they are perfect for winter work wear in NYC. While I normally wear a 2P in Banana Republic pants, I needed to go a size up in these. The charcoal is sold out in petite, but some standard sizes are still available here or you can buy the petite in brown instead here.

What are your favorite winter wardrobe items and looks? Leave them in the comments.

Some prettier poses…

 

And then the outtakes

 

Leave a Reply

