Farewell, Patricia Field

Recently I learned that Patricia Field’s store was closing. Pat Field may be best known to the world at large as the costume designer for Sex and the City, but her store has been a New York City mainstay long before Carrie and her crew roamed the streets of NYC.

Patricia Field has been in business for 50 years, but they’ve only occupied this space on the Bowery since 2012 (according to one of her many helpful and friendly employees). The current location is two floors worth of kitschy-chic fabulousness – costume jewelry with doll heads, an insane collection of affordably-priced sunglasses, brightly colored wigs, vintage shoes and apparel, clutch bags featuring big googly eyes for only $18, and so much more. In hindsight, it’s probably better that I never went in before now, I probably would have gone broke shopping there over the years. The prices are ridiculously reasonable, but there is so much sparkle that a magpie such as myself could never possibly have enough.

There’s so much more to Patricia Field’s store than I could ever put into one blog post. As I perused the delightfully cluttered mirrored shelves and tried on custom millinery items, an employee stopped a drag queen on his way out of the store, “no one ever recognizes me out of drag,” he remarked, clearly surprised. But that’s the kind of place it is. Even though I’d never been to her old shop in Greenwich Village, at that moment, I felt nostalgic for it.

Pat herself was nowhere to be found, but I probably would’ve just geeked out and had a major internal battle about whether or not it’s appropriate – or totally dorky – to ask her for a selfie. As I write and re-write this post I just feel like a total fangirl. So here are some photos from my visit. Hopefully they will inspire you to make your own pilgrimage before the store is set to close in early 2016.

Felt like Scarlett O’Hara when I realized I’d put it on backwards

Much better

Perhaps a more pared down version? Nah

I was torn about the shirt until a member of the staff (who also happens to model some of the clothes on the website) told me to cuff the sleeve, “I always do a cuff” he told me. Done!

Having fun with the fun house mirrors in the dressing room

Only $25 for these over-sized button-style earrings?! I had to have them.

And, finally, I will leave you with the most recognizable piece in the whole place, the Carrie necklace.

 Get your own here

Leave a Reply

